Troubleshooting anyone up for a list of mobos and nest/acorn combos that are recognized or have issues?

vapourminer

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2018
Messages
11
Likes
4
#1
seems like acorns and nests should be recognized in about anything (for now excluding amount of lanes and gen version) but i have already found a possible problem.. although probable user error on my part.

two mobos on win10 pro, gigabyte Z97X is on ver 1809 (fall creators edition) , onda D8P is on ver 1709

gigabyte Z97X 215+ in m2 slot: OK
onda D8P with next2x with a 101 (1st slot, @8x gen 3): not recognized
onda D8P with nest4x with a 215+: (1st slot, @8x gen 3) OK <--- same slot as above

will change things around and see whats up with the onda/nest2x/110, as all i did is drop the nest4x in the same slot with no changes.

any info anyone can suggest to make this tread more useful? more info, pics, etc?
 
Last edited:

NWhiskeyTango

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
14
Likes
3
#2
seems like acorns and nests should be recognized in about anything (for now excluding amount of lanes and gen version) but i have already found a possible problem.. although probable user error on my part.

two mobos on win10 pro, gigabyte Z97X is on ver 1809 (fall creators edition) , onda D8P is on ver 1709

gigabyte Z97X 215+ in m2 slot: OK
onda D8P with next2x with a 101 (1st slot, @8x gen 3): not recognized
onda D8P with nest4x with a 215+: (1st slot, @8x gen 3) OK <--- same slot as above

will change things around and see whats up with the onda/nest2x/110, as all i did is drop the nest4x in the same slot with no changes.

any info anyone can suggest to make this tread more useful? more info, pics, etc?
Enable 4g decoding?
 
OP
OP
vapourminer

vapourminer

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2018
Messages
11
Likes
4
#3
above 4g decode is on on both rigs.

gpuhoarder has just released a bitstream for standalone 215+, running it on both rigs now. took a little fiddling but it works. one on a nest2x, one on a nest4x

look for alpha 0.11c miner on discord
 

BDF_

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
17
Likes
9
#4
I'm gonna hold off saying what I have works or not until the full SQRL miner release, with gpu acceleration.
 
OP
OP
vapourminer

vapourminer

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2018
Messages
11
Likes
4
#5
there were apparently some early issues with some boards and m2 slots (my gigabyte was one of them) but his latest alpha releases seems to have fixed that. running a 215+ in the m2 slot now, flashes fine and everything.

of course as you say the real test is the official squirrel miner, but alpha testing is half the fun.
 

lil-mine

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
5
Likes
2
#6
Ive got my Z170A working with a Nest and have the drivers installed and showing up in lspci
Ive got a 215+ and 101 installed on ethos.
Im having a problem getting the miner to run...


10:51 PM ethos@ae6e21 192.168.1.47 /home/ethos/Downloads $ ./start_215Plus_2core.sh
./AcornMiner: relocation error: ./AcornMiner: symbol _ZNKSt7__cxx1112basic_stringIcSt11char_traitsIcESaIcEE8capacityEv, version GLIBCXX_3.4.21 not defined in file libstdc++.so.6 with link time reference


But i believe this to be a me issue and no a mobo issue. Also have a single gpu mining in the second x16 slot no issue....but didnt bring risers home so cant test hooking the gpu up to the Nest. baby steps.

Will go test the M.2 slot and see if it see it....will report back.
The M.2 onboard supports the Acorn just fine. sees it in lspci just fine :)
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
vapourminer

vapourminer

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2018
Messages
11
Likes
4
#7
try pulling the 101 out for now. i remember when i had the 101 in the rig along with the 215+s it complained there was no bitsream for it (the 101) and wouldnt start, even though i had 215+s in it too. pulled the 101 and the miner fired right up.
 

peter

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
0
#8

epicfpga

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2018
Messages
16
Likes
3
#9
I'm trying the GA-H110-D3A motherboard with the 215+, EDIT: but discovered that I'm trying to use in a SATA only.
 
Last edited:

Fox_silver

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
1
Likes
0
#10
I have tried an CL-101 on my GA-H110-D3A MB M.2 slot and the hardware is not been recognized. so still work on issue
 

cocofarmer

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
1
Likes
0
#12
I can confirm that the MSI Z170A GAMING M5 runs 4 nuts 215+ on 2x next 2g nicely without dropping out, it has 2 more m2 slots on board that I will try to get some 101s for and see if i can run 6 nuts and 8 gpus on it.
 

lil-mine

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
5
Likes
2
#13
Last edited:

BDF_

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
17
Likes
9
#14
Since all that is available is the stand-alone miner, I'll be speaking only to that.

I've got an ASUS Prime Z370-A motherboard with a gpu riser in every pcie slot and an acorn 215+ in each m.2 slot. Mines fine, but I had trouble getting the 7th gpu drivers to load in windows when the mobo was set to pcie gen 3.0, so I dropped it down to pcie gen 2.0 and everything works fine.
 

ZedZedNova

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
1
Likes
1
#16
Known working setup:
Acorn Info: Nest X4 w/ 4xCLE-215+ Acorns
Motherboard: Gigabyte Gaming B8 (B250-HD3-CF)
CPU: Intel Core I3-7320 @ 4.10 GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR4 (2x4GB sticks)
OS: ethOS 1.3.3 (Ubuntu 14.04 based, with updates for Acorns)

I have an old MSI R7-370 4GB that is providing my video, but is not mining. Probably going to look for a new mobo that will allow me to fit the Nest and my two MSI+Corsair 1080Ti Hydro GPUs.

Thanks to @christophe#7743 on the discord for the install and acorn reset scripts. Super handy, especially the reset one, while dialing in the speeds of the nuts.

Definitely need the heatsinks for the MOSFETs. When I put a low speed USB fan over the Nest , the VCCINT jumps right back to 1.00/0.99 on all four of the nuts.

These are the heatsinks I am looking at:
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/7...Heatsinks_-_65mm_x_65mm_x_12mm_-_10_Pack.html
 

Carl T

Banned
Banned
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
24
Likes
2
#17
seems like acorns and nests should be recognized in about anything (for now excluding amount of lanes and gen version) but i have already found a possible problem.. although probable user error on my part.

two mobos on win10 pro, gigabyte Z97X is on ver 1809 (fall creators edition) , onda D8P is on ver 1709

gigabyte Z97X 215+ in m2 slot: OK
onda D8P with next2x with a 101 (1st slot, @8x gen 3): not recognized
onda D8P with nest4x with a 215+: (1st slot, @8x gen 3) OK <--- same slot as above

will change things around and see whats up with the onda/nest2x/110, as all i did is drop the nest4x in the same slot with no changes.

any info anyone can suggest to make this tread more useful? more info, pics, etc?
NOT WORKING SETUP?: should I try again when the replacements arrive?
Nest X4 w/ 4xCLE-215+
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
CPU: AMD FX-6300 Vishera 6-Core 3.5 GHz Socket AM3+ 95W
RAM: 8GB DDR3 (2x4GB sticks)

On an X4, Acorn 1 visibly fried (october or november batch? not sure )... My power supply is a monster power series rx-700at and mobo is GA-970A-DS3P - it was plugged into the bottom pci-e slot with an 8 or 6 pin pci-e 12v connection (696watts on the 12v rail).

Was working for a few, then 1 crashed... I shut down, pressed power and pop ... C37 on the top right near the male plug is blown to smitherines.

x4 toasted as well! The rest of PC is still fine anyway. Apparently hit the silicon jackpot.


Recognized and I believe works.
MSI X470 GAMING PRO CARBON AM4 AMD X470 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
CORSAIR HXi Series HX1200i 1200W 80 PLUS PLATINUM Haswell Ready Full Modular ATX12V & EPS12V SLI and Crossfire ...
recognized my acorns before I toasted them elsewhere. Though the difficulty set itself to 0? That was 12b I think though. I didn't keep it in there as I'm using that for other things.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom