Self-Introductions Thread

Soul of Jacobeh

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Everyone who wants to introduce themselves may do so on this thread. If you post an introduction in a new thread it will get deleted and you'll have to move it here. (If I get the plugin working, I'll move it for you; but don't bet on it. Just post in the right place.)
--------------------------

I'll get us started:
I'm Jacob and I'm an admin here. I've mined on and off for a few years. In mid 2017 I took the skills I had developed over those years and introduced building mining rigs for small-scale use to the custom PC business I was operating. With the boom around November '17 we scaled that to sell pre-built, plug-and-play 8-GPU rigs for consumers (even if they didn't have an idea of how to mine). We did understandably well.
I ran into the FPGA community early 2018. I dove head-first into it and realized immersion was perfect for it. (I'd been looking into immersion cooling from December of 2016.) I ended up fairly active in the FPGA Discord early on and moderated the community through its growth from - I think - 300 members up through where it's at now. I hope to post a lot of useful findings on various immersion cooling methods, performance results, etc.

Play nice guys; I don't get to ban anyone very often.

Greerso

Newcomer
Born in working class London, managed my first rock band at 15, a few others for the next decade. My first computer was a Commodore 64, used to copy basic out of Byte magazine and never did learn what PEEK or POKE meant. Started working at a photo agency at 16, 30 years later I'm doing pretty much the same thing at the NY office of that London company. Along the way as part of helping run a small business, had to learn how to use a telex machine, dos, windows 2.0, 3.0, 3.1, 3.11 (with tcp/ip), eventually servers, until we had a small datacenter and most recently moved it all to cloud.